Bilderschlachten/ Batailles d'Images

A ballet noir (2019)

Our new production in 2019 reflects on voraciousness. What happens when the question of proportionality, how much and how little is left unanswered? What if we lose our orientation in a reference system of knownness and allow questioning the creative? In collaboration with the composer Brigitta Muntendorf, the Asasello Quartet and the renowned French orchestra Les Siècles under the direction of FX Roth and 8 dancers, a ballet is born for the end of the world, a ballet noir, wildly poaching in our cultural history. The monumental and devouring as a symbol of power and patriarchy is artistically intertwined with the attempt instead of the result, with quiet resistance and relinkage to nature.

Thiersch and Muntendorf want to provoke a reflection on the state of permanent overload with “Batailles d’Images/Picture battles”. The starting point is the excellently composed quotation collection of the German composer Bernd Alois Zimmermann “Musique pour le souper du roi Ubu” (1968), a musical danger zone of excess, vulgarity and the accumulation of power.


Choreography/Direction: Stephanie Thiersch
Musical Direction: Brigitta Muntendorf
Les Siècles Orchester/Conductor: Benjamin Shwartz
Asasello Quartett: Rostislav Kozhevnikov (1. Violin), Barbara Kuster (2. Violin), Teemu Myöhänen (Cello), Justyna Śliwa (Viola)
Lightdesign: Begoña Garcia
Choreography/Performance: Fabien Almakiewicz, Neus Barcons, Alexis ‚Maca’ Fernández, Julien Ferranti, Gyung Moo Kim, Alexandra Naudet, Camille Revol, Joel Suárez Gómez
Choreographic Assistance: Marcela Ruíz Quintero
Management: Tanja Baran, Béla Bisom
Production Management: Karolin Henze, Anna-Mareen Henke


In Coproduction:
Maifestspiele Wiesbaden/Staatstheater Wiesbaden
Théâtre de Nîmes (F)
Beethovenfest Bonn/Oper Bonn
tanzhaus nrw, Düsseldorf

In Cooperation:
Brigitta Muntendorf, Asasello Quartett, Ensemblenetzwerk Freihandelszone

Composition: Bernd-Alois Zimmermann „Musique pour le souper du Roi Ubu” (1968) and compositions by Brigitta Muntendorf

Funded by: Kulturstiftung des Bundes, Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, Kunststiftung NRW, Kulturamt der Stadt Köln, Rheinenergie Stiftung

Photography: Martin Rottenkolber – INVENTASY 1 – We sing the body electric with:
F. Almakiewicz, N. Barcons, A. Cubides, A. Fernandez, J. Ferranti, M. Gbeffa, M. Gomard, M. Izumi, M. Kim, M. Klee, A. Naudet, M. Parent, C. Revol, K. Strys, J. Suarez, Asasello Quartett, Brigitta Muntendorf, Stephanie Thiersch, Freihandelszone Köln, HfMT Köln