Stephanie Thiersch

Artistic direction

Stephanie Thiersch studied dance, the humanities and, later on, media art at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne. With the MOUVOIR Company that she founded in the year 2000, she develops stage performances, films and installations that have been performed both nationally and internationally and received numerous accolades. She was a visiting professor at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen, among others. Within the Freihandelszone ensemble network, she is the artistic director for the festival GLOBALIZE:COLOGNE. With “MITUMBA – A Happening”, a joint European-African production, Stephanie Thiersch has toured across Germany and East Africa. For “Corps Étrangers”, she worked with a Franco-German ensemble of dancers and acrobats. 2014 saw her collaborate with the up-and-coming Asasello Quartet for the very first time. A second production arose in 2015 titled “Bronze by Gold” (co-produced with the Hessian State Ballet/the State Theatres of Darmstadt and Wiesbaden, the Beethovenfest Bonn, and others) which premiered at the renowned Tanz im August Festival in Berlin. With the Kölner Philharmonie, she has just been co-producing City Dance based on Anna Halprin involving over 500 performers in Cologne’s urban areas.

“When confronting bodies, images and body-images, Stephanie Thiersch tries to strip away any habitual behavioural patterns and everyday communication in order to make it possible to experience a different, archaic form of coexistence in the intermediary spaces. At the interface of nature and culture, of the group and the individual, dancers become estranged to themselves. While swimming through and against streams of images, they attempt to find their way in a reality which repeatedly threatens to slip away from them, until it tips over and assumes surreal qualities. Between adapting to an unreal world and resisting powers they are unable to appreciate, they end up creating a reality with rules of its own”
(Gerald Siegmund, Brochure of the German Dance Platform)


Stephanie Thiersch, Isack Peter Abeneko, Fabien Almakiewicz, Mathieu Antajan, Tim Behren, Béla Bisom, Judith Bwire, Matteo Ceccarelli, Guy Cools, Jasper Diekamp, Dj Elephant Power, Viviana Escalé, Marika Gangemi, Karolin Henze, Inés Hernandez, Annamari Keskinen, Moo Kim, Rostislav Kozhevnikov, Mu-Yi Kuo, I-Fen Lin, Colas Lucot, Alexandra Naudet, Michele Meloni, Holger Mertin, Niko Moddenborg, Teemu Myöhänen, Tommy Noonan, Kingsley Odiaka, Chang Ik Oh, Kepha Oiro, Juliette Omolo, Florian Patschovsky, Marcela Ruiz Quintero, Martin Rottenkolber, Rui Silveira, Anton Skrzypiciel, Justyna Śliwa, Camille Revol, Valenti Rocamora i Torà, Sabine Schneider, Barbara Streil, Joseph Suchy, Anna Volkland, Wolfgang Zamastil